Welcome to AOTG.com

Sign up free

Be a part of a unique online community that connects post production professionals and film academics worldwide.

You'll have access to personalize your news feed, access to Live Post Talks and much more. Contribute to the community by posting interesting post production content.

Member Login

Social Login!

Not a Member? Sign Up!

(minimum 3 characters)
I agree with the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
To receive account info and prevent it landing in your spam folder, add info@aotg.com as an email contact.

  • What Display Should I Buy? An Opinion Piece...

    What Display Should I Buy? An Opinion Piece...

    November 16, 2012, 7:14 am
    Lest you later accuse me of false advertising, I'm admitting right now that I'm not going to tell you what you should buy. Rather, I'll deliver an epistemological monologue about choosing monitors that may accidentally be helpful to you. I welcome comment, especially from those of you who are genuine color scientists. Just please be nice to each other.

    • Report
    • Share
    • Save

    Share this posting

  • Other Postings By Member

    • AOTG
      EDITING

      Schoonmaker on Editing The Irishman

      January 23, 2020, 2:00 pm
      Three-time Oscar winner Thelma Schoonmaker‘s association with Martin Scorsese even pre-dates his storied collaboration with Robert DeNiro. She edited his Who’s That Knocking At My Door in 1967, picked up the first of eight Oscar nominations for editing Woodstock, went on hiatus for a few years, then returned to the Scorsese fold in 1980 to edit his famously brutal Raging Bull. Since then, Schoonmaker’s cut every Scorsese movie, and she’s nominated for her work The Irishman, which nabbed 10 nominations in total, including Best Picture and Best Director.

      • Report
      • Share
      • Save

      Share this posting

    • AOTG
      COLOR

      Pro Color Monitor - False Color Tool for Post-Prod

      January 23, 2020, 2:00 pm
      Pro Color Monitor is a Mac app designed to analyze footage, and that acts as a monitor false color tool for post-production. Let’s take a closer look at this one of its kind tool to see how it can help you white balancing your footage easily!

      • Report
      • Share
      • Save

      Share this posting

    • AOTG
      ANIMATION

      BAFTA to Honor Andy Serkis

      January 23, 2020, 2:00 pm
      The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is presenting Andy Serkis with its Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema Award at the 73rd EE British Academy Film Awards ceremony on Feb. 2 in London.

      • Report
      • Share
      • Save

      Share this posting

    • AOTG
      VFX

      Watchmen - VFX Breakdown by Framestore

      January 23, 2020, 2:00 pm
      Framestore have posted a VFX breakdown for the Watchmen series.

      • Report
      • Share
      • Save

      Share this posting

    • AOTG
      SOUND

      Mac Pro 2019 & Trash Can Processing Power Availabl

      January 23, 2020, 2:00 pm
      As a precursor to this article, I demonstrated that the Pro Tools System Usage meter, although very pretty, doesn’t display what is actually happening with the load across the CPUs in a computer. To get a much more accurate display of this, you need to turn to the tools available in your operating system, whether macOS or Windows.

      • Report
      • Share
      • Save

      Share this posting

    • AOTG
      VFX

      Looking Ahead: Next-Gen of VFX Collaboration

      January 23, 2020, 2:00 pm
      There’s no denying both the volume and production standards of film, TV and streaming have reached an all-time high. In 2018, 10 out of the 10 highest grossing films in the US were either visual effects (VFX) movies or computer-animated films. And from 2011 to 2018, the episodic TV industry experienced an 85 percent increase — many of those series relying heavily on VFX.

      • Report
      • Share
      • Save

      Share this posting

    • AOTG
      ANIMATION

      Real-life renders of animated bedrooms are strange

      January 23, 2020, 2:00 pm
      The cool thing about animation is that while the elements of a story may feel familiar – perhaps the characters are human, and live in the sort of houses we recognise – the animated format allows us to suspend our disbelief. Things happen in cartoons that wouldn't happen in real life. And largely, as an audience, we'll happily accept that.

      • Report
      • Share
      • Save

      Share this posting

    • AOTG
      VFX

      THE WITCHER: Aleksandar Pejic - VFX Supervisor

      January 21, 2020, 6:17 pm
      In 2016, Aleksandar Pejic explained the work of Framestore on THE LEGEND OF TARZAN. He then joined Cinesite and worked on AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR and ROBIN HOOD.

      • Report
      • Share
      • Save

      Share this posting

    • AOTG
      VFX

      How ‘The Irishman’ VFX Supervisor De-Aged Acto

      January 21, 2020, 6:17 pm
      On Martin Scorsese’s The Irishman, VFX Supervisor Pablo Helman faced the “astronomical” challenge of de-aging Robert De Niro, Al Pacino and Joe Pesci for a gangster epic that jumped back and forth in time, developing groundbreaking software and a three-part camera rig through which the team at ILM could pull the job off.

      • Report
      • Share
      • Save

      Share this posting

    • VFX - Why Are You Stuck
      VFX

      VFX - Why Are You Stuck

      January 21, 2020, 2:31 pm
      Welcome to Episode 230! This is one I recorded for all of us when we don’t get the wins that we want and we get baffled by that. I wanted to make it really clear as to why that is.

      • Report
      • Share
      • Save

      Share this posting





    SUBMIT A LINK

    Newest From Aotg.com
    Stay Informed
    • Mail List

      E-Mail Newsletter

      Choose what Post News gets sent directly to your E-Mail, daily or weekly.

    • Apple iOS Mobile App

      AOTG App for iOS

      Get your post news on your favourite Apple device, when you want it where you want it.

    • Android Mobile App

      AOTG App for Android Devices

      Get your post news on your favourite Android device with the AOTG Android App.